News from around the Department

Assistant Professor Arun Venkataramani and co-authors J.P. John, E. Katz-Bassett, A. Krishnamurthy, and T. Anderson received the Best Paper Award for “Consensus Routing: The Internet as a Distributed System” at the 5th USENIX Symposium on Networked Systems Design & Implementation (NSDI '08) held in San Francisco, CA in April.

Associate Professor Brian Levine received the "Excellence in Science & Technology Award" from the SUNY Albany alumni association.  The award recognizes Levine for his many achievements since his days as an undergraduate at SUNY.

Professor Lori Clarke gave a Keynote address at the 2008 International Conference on Software Engineering describing the research that Professors Lee Osterweil, George Avrunin, and Clarke have been doing on medical safety with UMass Amherst Nursing Professor Beth Henneman and medical personnel at Baystate Medical Center.

Associate Professor David Jensen was appointed an associate editor of ACM Transactions on Knowledge Discovery in Data.

Assistant Professor Kevin Fu received a Commercial Ventures & Intellectual Property (CVIP) Technology Development Fund ‘08 award for commercial technology development of zero-power defenses for implantable medical devices. Using zero-power telemetry in implantation devices can extend the lifetime of batteries, enabling patients to have a better quality of life. Funding will be used to construct a prototype demonstrating the technology. 

Distinguished Professor Emeritus Arnold Rosenberg was invited to give a talk at SPAA: ACM Symposium on Parallelism in Algorithms and Architectures in Munich, Germany in June.

Research Scientist Michael Zink and co-authors Kyoungwon Suh (UMass Amherst CS Ph.D. ’07), Yu Gu, and Jim Kurose received the Best Paper Award for “Watch Global Cache Local: YouTube Network Traces at a Campus Network - Measurements and Implications” presented at the 2008 Multimedia Computing and Networking Conference (MMCN '08) held in San Jose, CA in January.

Susan Landau, former CS Research Professor and wife of Prof. Neil Immerman, received a 2008 Women of Vision Award from the Anita Borg Institute.  Dr. Landau is currently a Distinguished Engineer at Sun Microsystems Laboratories. The Awards honor women making significant contributions to technology in three categories: innovation, leadership, and social impact.

Dmytro Novytskiy joined the Biologically Inspired Neural and Dynamical Systems (BINDS) Lab as a Postdoctoral Research Associate.

Antonio Augusto de Aragao Rocha is a visiting scholar from the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro working with the Computer Networks Research Group. 

Graduate students Karl Schultz and Rachel Shorey were awarded three-year National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships.  Jacqueline Kenney and William Dabney received honorable mention in the competition. Each year thousands of first- and second-year doctoral students in science, math, and social science apply, but only a small percentage are selected; the total award pool this year was 913 students. The award includes a $30,000 stipend plus tuition and fees for three years for each awardee.

Undergraduate Ali Shah, who works with Assistant Professor Emery Berger, will spend the summer in the prestigious IBM Extreme Blue internship program for software developers.

Graduate student Elisha Rosensweig and his wife Anat welcomed the birth of their baby girl, Kinneret Channa, on April 11.

Graduate student Dubi Katz and his wife Gili, announced the birth of their baby boy, Yahel Katz, born on leap day, February 29.

Under the direction of Professor Rick Adrion, the Commonwealth Alliance for Information Technology Education (CAITE) and the Commonwealth Information Technology Initiative (CITI) welcomed Renee Fall as Project Manager and Hillary Rathbun as Communications Assistant.

Kevin Kohler joined the Department as a Staff Programmer working with Professors Robbie Moll and Beverly Woolf.

Andre Gauthier was promoted to Systems Manager 1 within the Center for Intelligent Information Retrieval.