| Latest News

photo: Rui Wang[ Wang joins faculty - Rui Wang joined the CS faculty this fall as an Assistant Professor. Dr. Wang's research focus is on computer graphics.

[ Berger named Lilly Fellow photo: Emery Berger- Assistant Professor Emery Berger is a Lilly Teaching Fellow for AY 2006-2007.

[ Moll's service commended photo: Robbie Moll- The College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics honored Prof. Robbie Moll with the Outstanding Service Award.

[ Croft receives IBM and Microsoft photo: W. Bruce Croftawards - Distinguished Professor Bruce Croft was selected for an IBM Eclipse Innovation Faculty Award and a Microsoft Live Labs Accelerating Search in Academic Research Award.

[ Undergraduate "U-Space" unveiled - The newly renovated "U-Space" is available for all CS undergrads to use.

[ Department hosts distinguished lecturers - This year's lecturers include Peter Freeman, Barbara Ryder, Thomas Huang, Martha Pollack, and Philip Bernstein.

[ Ramping up security for 'Smart Tags' - Asst. Professor Kevin Fu received funding to strengthen security for "smart tags.".

[ Free Internet for downtown Amherst - Asst. Professor Erik Learned-Miller applies information theory to real data and practical problems in new course.

[ Intelligent systems and mobile computing - Research Scientist Chris Pal embarks on exciting new research.

[ David Stemple (1937 - 2006) photo: David Stemple- Professor Emeritus David Stemple died on March 22 after a long battle with cancer.


[ Other News --Spring 2006
[ Other News --Fall 2005
[ Other News --Spring 2005
[ Other News --Fall 2004
[ Other News -- Spring 2004
[ Other News -- Fall 2003
[ Events & Announcements

photo: Don Towsley[ Towsley receives prestigious IEEE award - Distinguished Professor Don Towsley received the 2007 IEEE Koji Kobayashi Computers and Communications Award.

[ Hanson and Riseman honored at Homecoming - Professor Allen Hanson and Professor Emeritus Edward Riseman gathered with alumni and friends for a homecoming celebration in their honor.

[ DARPA honors Lesser and former students - photo: Victor LesserDARPA bestowed special recognition to Professor Victor Lesser and former students Alan Garvey and Keith Decker.

[ CS-Saturday another success - The second annual CS-Saturday event was held this fall. Students visited the Department for a day-long discussion on graduate schoool in computer science.

[ Individualized teaching photo: Wayang Outpost tutor- Research Professor Beverly Woolf addresses a growing need in education by using technology for individualized teaching.

[ Ground-breaking consortium - Distinguished Professors Jim Kurose and Don Towsley are involved in the International Technology Alliance.

photo: Hava Siegelmann[ How jet lag disrupts the body - Associate Professor Hava Siegelmann's model reveals how jet lag disrupts the body.

photo: NSM Dean George Langford[ Langford marks 1st year as NSM Dean - September marked George M. Langford's first anniversary as Dean of NSM.

photo: Megan Olsen[ Olsen receives Google Anita Borg Memorial Scholarship - Graduate student Megan Olsen is one of only 19 students to receive the scholarship.

photo: Gary Huang[ Huang named first Popplestone Fellow - Graduate student Gary Huang is the first recipient of the Popplestone Fellowship.

[ News tidbits: faculty, visitors, researchers, students, and staff

[ Significant Bits newsletter
[ Alumni News